D.I.Y: Remixing and Sampling

In my previous posts about remix culture, I have been exploring the implications of using already published artwork to create something new. Now, I have attempted to sample and remix music, sound effects and films to completely understand the process of reusing material.

Utilising Audacity, I attempted to create a sound piece that (in the very least) was bearable to listen with each feature of the track complimenting one another. I began with downloading a synthesised drum and bass guitar loop from Looperman, and repeated it until the duration reached just over the minute mark. I then reduced its tempo by -12% and used the studio fade-out effect to end the track altogether. I then sourced an electric guitar loop that resembled a dance track, and repeated it until it also lasted in duration for just over a minute.

The screenshot (above) illustrates the sound waves of each music loop, sound effect and spoken voice from film that I used to create my track.
The screenshot (above) illustrates the sound waves of each music loop, sound effect and spoken voice from film that I used to create my track.

After sourcing a memorable film quote from Forrest Gump (1994): “My Mama always said, ‘Life was like a box of chocolates; you never know what you’re gonna get'”, I used an online converter to change the audio from the webpage into an MP3 file. I initially left the spoken audio as a whole quote early on in the track, but then layered it in sections later on. I then copied the section of: “…you never know what you’re gonna get” and deepened the reverberation of it before giving it an echo and repeating this technique at the very end of the track.

Leave a Reply

